Your browser version is no longer supported, so you may experience issues while using this site.
Please upgrade to a current browser to enjoy the best experience.

Home Insurance Reviews

Find out exactly what GIO customers think about our Home Insurance.

Reviews are independently verified and detail our customers’ real experiences with their Home Insurance policies.

Reviews managed and sourced by BazaarVoice.

Home Insurance is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So easy to use Purchased this today lady on the phone was helpful for my partner everything seemed simple for us!
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall happy Have always been happy with GIO however was dismayed busy large pricing increase from last year to current (over $500). I added one specified jewellery item however I don't think this justifies the increase, nor does CPI. I phoned GIO, customer service offered me a small discount, however I used the online calculator, even increased my home cover and contents value, and save a further $90. Frustrated that customer service officers cannot offer the best deal.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Why do you need anything other than my email to email me something? GIO took care of my mum when her place flooded. HOWEVER, they consistently overcharge in their renewal notices (by $150-200 in my experience compared to when you do it yourself with the exact same info). I've tried to get a policy sent to me 3 times now. Last year I had to call someone and get them to forward it. This year I tried a month ago to have it posted to me because although I provided my email address, without a mobile number which presumably would be sold to a third party, they wouldn't email it to me. The quote never arrived, but I did get a letter reminding me that I was now uninsured because they refused to send me a quote via email when I had only provided them my email address. Get it together GIO. If the policy doesn't arrive this time, that's all 3 strikes.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quote calculation website very easy to use Just a comment : I would prefer that you offer PayPal as a payment option.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feedback from friends & family Great feedback from friends & family! parents have used for years & are happy
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Friendly & Easy The policy was easy to set up on-line. The questions were in plain English and I particularly liked the on-line help - friendly and easily understood.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to understand Very easy experience to navigate the information required
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The quoting site is really good to use! Glad I went to the trouble of comparing H&C quotes, as managed to obtain similar insurance through GIO for considerably less than my original provider.
Date published: 2017-07-04
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_AU, sid_in.gio.home.buy.allTime, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_gio
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 254ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT